Configure device reset behavior
You can configure which device reset mode will occur when you trigger a device reset using the Reset button on the device, the Erase button in the device's web UI, or a CLI command.
By default, the device is reset to Config reset mode when you trigger a device reset. If you change the default behavior, then this mode will be triggered regardless of the method used ( button, Web UI, or CLI). For example, if you change the device reset behavior to use the Factory Reset mode, then any method you use to reset a device will trigger that mode.
Before you begin
-
Review the Device reset topic to familiarize yourself with this concept.
-
To make sure the mode you choose will result in the actions you expect, see the Device reset modes overview to compare the modes available to you, as well as the actions that will occur when that mode is triggered.
To configure the device reset behavior:
-
Choose the management interface you want to use to access your device. Click a dropdown for instructions.
-
Configure the settings.
Menu instructions
-
Click Settings > System.
-
Click to expand the Reset Behavior configuration.
-
In the Erase Action setting, select the mode you want triggered when a device reset occurs.
-
Click Save.
From now on, a device reset will trigger the mode you chose.
CLI instructions
- At the config prompt, type or copy the following command and add the desired parameter:Copy
config system erase_button once <value>with <value> being the config_reset, factory_reset, or keep_known_apns parameter.
- On the keyboard, press Return.
From now on, a device reset will trigger the mode you chose.
- Save the configuration and apply the change.
(config)> save Configuration saved. > - Type exit to exit the Admin CLI.
Depending on your device configuration, you may be presented with an Access selection menu. Type quit to disconnect from the device.
-
